Standards Organizations We Work With

Our certification program is built on the foundation of performance standards developed by some of the most notable standards development organizations in the world.

ASTM International (ASTM)

SEI is an affiliate of ASTM International, a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. Standards developed at ASTM are the work of over 30,000 of the world's top technical experts and business professionals representing 140 countries.

American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP)

ASSP provides education, advocacy, standards development, and professional resources to its 38,000 members in the occupational safety and health industry. ASSP engages in a collaborative, consensus-based process that brings together diverse viewpoints to develop and publish standards on many issues with the American National Standards Institute and the International Organization for Standardization.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

ANSI facilitates the development of American National Standards, also known as ANS, by accrediting the procedures of standards developing organizations. ANSI accreditation signifies that the procedures used by standards setting organizations meet the Institute's requirements. The organization also coordinates U.S. standards with international standards so that American products can be used worldwide.

Canadian Standards Association (CSA)

The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit, membership-based association serving business, industry, government, and consumers in Canada and the global marketplace. The association works in Canada and around the world to develop standards that address enhancing public safety and health, advancing the quality of life, helping to preserve the environment, and facilitating trade. Each year, thousands of people benefit from the training materials, workshops, and seminars offered by the CSA Learning Center.

Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from more than 15,000 types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction. The CPSC is committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard or can injure children. The CPSC's work to ensure the safety of consumer products contributed significantly to the 30 percent decline in the rate of deaths and injuries associated with consumer products over the past 30 years.

International Safety Equipment Association (ISEA)

ISEA is a recognized leader in the development of ANSI-accredited safety equipment standards, in the U.S. and around the world. It is a forum for information sharing and industry action and advocating for the use of safety equipment to keep workers safe. The association manages product groups that draft performance standards which achieve consensus either through a formal review by a panel of all interested parties or by submission to an accredited standards committee.

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

This international nonprofit organization was established in 1896 with the well-defined mission to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education. NFPA develops, publishes, and disseminates more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks.

National Institute of Justice (NIJ)

NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice. NIJ has published standards for both ballistic and stab resistance of personal body armor and CBRN protective ensembles for law enforcement.

National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment (NOCSAE)

NOCSAE is a nonprofit corporation that formed in 1970 in response to a need for a performance test standard for football helmets. In 1973, the NOCSAE Football Helmet Standard was developed. The 1974 new helmet models were the first tested to this standard. The baseball batting helmet standard was published in 1981, and the 1983 helmet models were the first tested to this standard. The baseball standard has since been designated as the baseball/softball batting helmet standard.